I’m feeling a little retro today, so I figured I would share an observation regarding the newly remade TV series, Bionic Woman.

I was excited when I heard that they doing a remake, mainly because I was so crazy about the original series in the 70’s. (How could you not love Lindsay Wagner in that role? Alas, she is doing Sleep Number Bed infomercials, ahh, what a waste of talent). PS…If you are so inclined to check out the Sleep Number site, be sure to notice that you can enter for a chance to win a bed autographed by Hilary Swank! (huh?)

So, I gave the new show a shot and I have to share the two things I am most disappointed by:

  1. Why do we need a bionic woman # 1 and a bionic woman #2, with fights that look choreographed by Quentin Tarantino during his Kill Bill era. One really good bionic woman should be enough.
  2. WHERE IS THE BIONIC SOUND EFFECT???!!!

NBC pulled a fast one, when the new Jamie Sommers ran with her new bionic legs for the first time, they had a helicopter hovering overhead, so at the very beginning of that scene, I thought,”ahhh there it is, there it is, a modernized version of the bionic sound….uhhh, nope, it’s a stupid helicopter.”

I was longing to hear the sound so much, that I had to search for it online, and hearing it brought tears to my eyes (OK, maybe not tears, but a really satisfied grin.) Listen and enjoy: Bionic Audio Clip

Also, I came across this NPR story and audio clip – very interesting to hear that I am not alone in my opinions.

So, come on, NBC, give us the sound we all crave!

